SL vs Pak, Test 1, Day 1 | Batting first in the match against Pakistan, Sri Lanka’s top order collapsed

Sri Lanka won the toss and elected to bat in the first cricket test against Pakistan at the Galle International Stadium.

Sri Lanka won the toss and elected to bat in the first cricket test against Pakistan at the Galle International Stadium.

Pakistan took an early advantage in the first cricket Test against Sri Lanka by reducing the hosts to 80 for four by lunchtime on the first day on 16 July.

Sri Lanka won the toss in good batting conditions and elected to bat first at the Galle International Stadium, but the team’s batsmen failed to live up to expectations with very soft dismissals.

Captain Dimuth Karunaratne pulled Shine Afridi’s delivery onto his stumps for 1 and continued the 49-run partnership for the second wicket between Oshada Fernando and Kushal Mendis.

Sri Lanka then lost three wickets for just eight runs, 60 for one and then 68 for four.

Fernando and Mendis broke Yasir Shah’s partnership in the space of three balls. Leg-spinner Mendis (21) sent an edge below wicketkeeper Mohammad Rizwan to claim his first wicket after the comeback. Yasir has not represented Pakistan since August last year due to injuries.

Pakistan then made a bowling change, bringing in Hasan Ali from the city end and it worked as Oshada Fernando (35) hit an out-swinger and Rizwan took a good catch diving to his right.

Mathews spent 30 minutes at the crease but never looked comfortable. Yasir ended his woes when the former captain hit straight to Naseem Shah at mid-on and was dismissed without scoring.

Dinesh Chandimal, who scored an unbeaten double century in Sri Lanka’s last Test match in an innings win over Australia earlier this week, was 12 not out at lunch with Dhananjaya de Silva 8.


Sri Lanka: Dimuth Karunaratne (captain), Oshada Fernando, Kusal Mendis, Angelo Mathews, Dinesh Chandimal, Dhananjaya de Silva, Niroshan Dikwella, Ramesh Mendis, Mahesh Thiksha, Kasun Rajitha and Prabat Jayasuriya

Pakistan: Babar Azam (captain), Mohammad Rizwan, Abdullah Shafiq, Azhar Ali, Hasan Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Nawaz, Naseem Shah, Salman Agha, Shaheen Afridi and Yasir Shah.

Umpires: Marais Erasmus, South Africa and Kumar Dharmasena, Sri Lanka.

Third Umpire: Rod Tucker, Australia.

Match Referee: Jeff Crowe, New Zealand.

Source link

What do you think?

Written by filmysector

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

GIPHY App Key not set. Please check settings

5 Simple Tips For Your Children to Remember What They Learn

England vs India, 3rd ODI | India need to change their batting style in the series decider